[Skip to Content]
En Plein Air - Homepage



2021 GRAND PRIZE Elta Joyce Murphey Award - Christine Lashley "Night at the Museum"


2021 Best Body of Work Award - Richard Sneary


Olena Babak painting at the 2021 Waterlily Morning Paint Out

Liz Bonham

Liz Bonham's painting at the International Waterlily Collection during 2020 EnPleinAirTexas

Bill Farnsworth at Sunset on the Harkey Ranch

Bill Farnsworth at Sunset on the Harkey Ranch

Merfield Batson at Roping 2020

Lori Merfeld-Batson paints at the San Angelo Roping Fiesta

Richard Sneary Ranch
Richard Sneary grabs the architectural details of the Hunter cabin on the Quillen Ranch.
Stables Display Area

The Stables at Fort Concho proved to be an amazing venue for the 2020 EnPleinAirTEXAS paintings.

Grand Prize Susan Lynn

Susan Lynn receives the Elta Joyce Murphey Grand Prize Award for her watercolor titled "Peace on the River".

Olena Babek

Olena Babak captures the essence of the "Passing it On" bronze on the Paseo walk to the river downtown.

Museum purchase award

Carla Bosch receives the Museum Purchase Award for "Day's Reward" with sponsors Lee & Patrick Moore.

2020 Awards Stampede Exhibit and sale
Buyers perusing the amazing 2020 EnPleinAirTEXAS paintings from the competition week.


Brienne Brown painting at Quillen Ranch
Brienne Brown is taken with West Texas caliche road on the Quillen Ranch during EPAT 2020.
Artist Shawn Cornell talking to SAISD students

Shawn Cornell explains his handmade painting travel box to Central High School art students who came to watch the artists at the International Waterlily Collection.

 9th Annual 
International Juried Competition 
October 22 - 29, 2022
Artists may submit applications online
January 1 - May 25, 2022

2022 Judge of Awards - Michael Obermeyer
2022 Juror - Michael Grauer

30 Competition Artists will be selected from the applications and will join the five top winners from 2021 - Christine Lashley, Richard Sneary, Mat Barber Kennedy, Bill Farnsworth and Spencer Meagher!


Click here to see some of the 2021 paintings for sale!

The 2021 Elta Joyce Murphey GRAND PRIZE Award went to:
Christine Lashley, "Night at the Museum"

Grand Prize winner Christine Lashley along with Museum and award patron Elta Joyce McAfee, 
Awards Judge 
Tim Newton, and Museum of Fine Arts Director Howard Taylor.


Congratulations to the 2021 Competition Winners:

Grand Prize – The Elta Joyce Murphey Award

Christine Lashley, "Night at the Museum"

Best Body of Work Award – Richard Sneary

Artist Choice Award – Mat Barber Kennedy 

2nd Place Award – Bill Farnsworth

3rd Place Award – Spencer Meagher 
The above artists in blue receive an invitation to the 2022 EnPleinAirTEXAS!

Museum Purchase Award - Mark Shasha

Judge’s Award of Distinction – Christopher Leeper 

Texas Ranchland Award – John Caggiano 

Texas Precious Water Award – Suzie Baker 

Spirit of San Angelo Award – Brienne Brown 

Ken Landon Waterlily Award – Olena Babak 

Best Architectural Award – Mat Barber Kennedy 

Texas Artists Camp Award – Gary Tucker 

Field Ranch Favorite Award – Nancy Tankersley

Mini-Pearls of the Conchos - 4 Judge's Choice Awards
Christopher Leeper
Jeff Williams
Olena Babak
Tim Beall

Roping Paint-Out - 4 Judge's Choice Awards - 
Stewart White
Antwan Ramar
Yong Hong Zhong
Kathleen Hudson

Roping Paint-Out Open Category - 3 Judge's Choice Awards - 
Bruce Bingham
Karyn Kuniyuki
Kyle Ma

Roping Paint-Out - Best San Angelo Artist Award -
Yuki Kuniyuki

Click here to read all about the 8th Annual Competition,
featured in Ranch & Rural Magazine!

The 2021 EnPleinAirTEXAS
Competition Artists
Click on an artist's name to learn more about them!

Olena Babak ~ Heartland, Maine 
Suzie Baker ~ Shenandoah, Texas
Tim Beall ~ St. Michaels, Maryland 
Jacalyn Beam ~ Greenville, Delaware
Carla Bosch ~ Liberty Hill, Texas 
Anthony Bowes ~ Chesterfield, Virginia
Kent Brewer ~ Waxahachie, Texas
Allen Brockbank ~ Centerville, Utah
Brienne M Brown ~ Julian, Pennsylvania 
Tom Brown ~ Fairview, Texas
John Caggiano ~ Rockport, Massachusetts
Philip Carlton ~ Fruita, Colorado
Bill Farnsworth ~ Venice, Florida 
Hai Ou Hou ~ Stevensville, Maryland
Qiang Huang ~ Cedar Park, Texas
Kathleen Hudson ~ Colorado Springs, Colorado
Debra Huse ~ Costa Mesa, California
Mat Barber Kennedy ~ Chicago, Illinois 
CHRISTINE LASHLEY ~ Reston, Virginia ~ 2021 Elta Joyce Murphey Grand Prize
Christopher Leeper ~ Canfield, Ohio 
Susan Lynn ~ Rockport, Massachusetts
Spencer Meagher ~ Mount Vernon, Illinois 
Antwan Ramar ~ Orlando, Florida 
Mark Shasha ~ Swampscott, Massachusetts 
Richard Russell Sneary ~ Kansas City, Missouri 
Nancy Tankersley ~ Easton, Maryland 

Gary Tucker ~ Boston, Massachusetts 
Bob Upton ~ St. Paul, Minnesota
Durre Waseem ~ Corona, California
Stewart B White ~ Easton, Maryland 
Jeff Williams ~ Stillwater, Oklahoma 
Yong Hong Zhong ~ Lake Oswego, Oregon



   PleinAirTexas     Plein Air Texas

Like us on Facebook and Subscribe to our Youtube channel to keep up with our events and artist videos!

  • Past Events button
  • Get involved button